This committee is appointed by the Minister of Health. It includes experts from all clinical disciplines whose expertise may contribute to determining the role of vaccines causing adverse events. Presently, experts on the committee include pharmacists, pharmacovigilance experts, infectious disease specialists, paediatricians, EPI programme experts, immunologists, microbiologists, pathologists, public health specialists. The committee may ask advice from specialists who do not sit on the committee. Meetings are held quarterly or adhoc depending on volume of cases that are reported.