Category 4 notifiable medical conditions must be notified through a written or electronic

notification to the Department of Health within 1 month of diagnosis by private and public

health laboratories

Notifiable medical condition

Pathogens to notify


Healthcare-associated infections or

multidrug-resistant organisms of public

health importance


Carbapenemase-producing Enterobacteriaceae

Vancomycin-resistant enterococci

Staphylococcus aureus: hGISA and GISA

Colistin-resistant Pseudomonas aeruginosa

Colistin-resistant Acinetobacter baumanii

Clostridium difficile